Door Number 3's "Stop the Choddy" Wins Webby


Austin, TX (September 7, 2011)

Door Number 3, a nationally-respected boutique ad agency, received an Official Honoree Webby Award for its popular initiative Stop the Choddy. Of the 10,000 entries submitted to the 16th Annual Webby Awards, fewer than 15% were distinguished with the honor. Specifically, Stop the Choddy won in the website humor category, which recognized only six winners from entries from all 50 states and over 60 countries. Other humor category winners include industry stalwarts Wieden+Kennedy, Warner Bros., Viacom, and Funny or Die.

A Choddy (pronounced Chaw-dee) was termed by Door Number 3, and is defined as a formulaic commercial where celebrities and civilians stand in front of a bland background and advocate issues from starving children to chicken sandwiches. It consists of quick cuts, sometimes with characters repeating each others’ words, waist-up framing, and benign needle drop music. It is considered by many in the advertising industry as an easy-way-out in the development of a broadcast advertisement because it generally lacks any creativity. Stop the Choddy ( is a movement designed to halt this mullet of advertising, and has been accepted as a new word in the Urban Dictionary.

“Door Number 3 is excited to be recognized among these other biggies in the industry who we greatly admire for their humor on and off the web,” said MP Mueller, president of Door Number 3. “Winning a Webby in this category affirms that our quirky humor, and creativity are funny outside of the office kegerator clatches. We hope to put Choddies into a long, extended coma. They have tethered our industry for far too long, and have greatly assisted in blunting consumers’ love of advertising.”

To date, Door Number 3 has identified nearly 300 examples of Choddies. They can be found at the humorous website Site visitors will also find funny confessions from advertising industry professionals, and a pledge to take, promising never to develop and produce a Choddy again.

About the Webby Awards - The Webby Awards is the leading international award honoring excellence on the Internet. Established in 1996 during the Web’s infancy, The Webbys is presented by The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences. The Academy is an intellectually diverse organization that includes members such as musicians Beck and David Bowie, Internet inventor Vint Cerf, President & Editor-in-Chief of Huffington Post Media Group Arianna Huffington, Twitter Co-founder Biz Stone, “The Simpsons” creator Matt Groening, foursquare Co-founder Dennis Crowely, Chairman and Founder of R/GA Bob Greenberg, Founder of Flipboard Mike McCue, actress Lisa Kudrow, Co-founder of Thrillist Ben Lerer, and actor Adrian Grenier. Members also include writers and editors from publications such as The New York Times, Wired, Details, Fast Company, Elle, and The Los Angeles Times. The 15th Annual Webby Awards received nearly 10,000 entries from over 60 countries and all 50 states and generated nearly 2 billion media impressions worldwide.